Natural Haircare Suggestions & Tips

By: S. Easley

So although I wear my hair straight often I’m 100% natural and I’m all about healthy haircare. Last December, I decided to try something new. I went to a colorist and had my hair dyed a blonde-ish color, which you can see in the photos.

I’ve always taken great care of my hair, but I knew that by bleaching and dyeing my hair I would have to take even better care of my hair. So of course I made sure my hair stayed hydrated with oils because it’s really important to regardless of the season and whether my hair is straight or curly. BUT, knowing that color dries out hair I had to come up with something to make sure that I wouldn’t have any breakage. So from google and my own ideas I created a great conditioner that’s great for natural hair whether it’s dyed or not.

My conditioner consists of:

  • Mayo
  • Avocado oil (fair amount)
  • Coconut oil (not too much of this either it’ll just make your hair greasy if you overdo it )
  • Olive oil (this is optional, but you can choose whichever oils works for you best)
  • Banana (it’s easier to use baby food you don’t have to worry about clumps)
  • your regular conditioner

So once you have all of these ingredients you mix them together, put it on your hair and leave it in with a shower cap on for a couple of mins. This will have your hair moisturized and softer. I would also recommend adding one of the oils I listed to your ends if they tend to be dry before even shampooing your hair it’ll help your hair from breaking when combing through and if you plan on blowdrying it. Hope this helps 🙂

Leave a Reply

